Updates are changes that Jagex has made to RuneScape. When a large update occurs, a yellow message appears above the chat box warning players that there is a limited time until all players are booted from the game as the system upgrades. During smaller bugfixes, Jagex may not display this message, and the change will occur without need to restart. Once the system has been updated, players then may return to their world. However, players must reload the page, or they will be provided with the message: RuneScape has been updated! Please reload this page.
Updates are classified into six different groups:
- Game updates
- Website updates
- Behind the Scenes updates
- Technical updates
- Customer support updates
- Shop updates
- There was also a "Community" category, which was discontinued.