Automatic edit summaries are created when certain actions are performed and an alternate summary is not provided. These summaries will be saved in the page histories indefinitely and may not be altered.
Automatic edit summaries appear when:
- Blanking a page
- Replacing most of a page
- Creating a new page
- Redirecting a page
- Undoing or reverting an edit
Furthermore, when editing a specific section of a page or creating a new section, the section title will appear in the edit summary unless you choose to remove it.